MATERIAL FOR CLASS XII


Notes :
Contraction: I would = I’d
Negative form: would rather + not
Present from:
– Notice that the simple form of. a verb
follows both would rather and than.
– if the verb is the same, it does not have to be
repeated after than.

(1) I would rather become an engineer
than an architect.
(2) I’d rather study English than (study)
Biology.
Past from:
– would rather have + past participle
(3) The dish was okay, but I would rather
have eaten my mother’s apple pie.
Progressive from:
– would rather + be + ing
(4) I’d rather be playing football than (be)
staying at home right now.
Expressing Preference
Would Rather
Would rather is used to express personal preference.
This expression is used to show a tendency
doing or liking something.
EXERCISES:

Answer these questions using I’d rather and the words
in the brackets.

Example: Shall we walk? (go by car) I’d rather go by car.

1. Shall we play tennis? (go for swim)
2. Shall we watch television? (read a book)
3. Shall we go to a restaurant? (eat at home)
4. Shall we leave now? (wait for a minute)
5. Shall we cook the dinner later? (now)

Make sentences using I’d rather … than ….

Example: (walk/go by car)
I’d rather walk than go by car.

1. (go fishing/ play football)
2. (stay at home/go to cinema)
3. (be a professor/be a millionaire)
4. (go by bus/go by train)
5. (live in the country/live in a city)

11 Responses

  1. hy sir. ^_^

  2. i think i am enought understand from this material because english is difficult from me , maybe i must study hard now, …………….

  3. hello sir

    for these materials can I understand it a little, but whether to show expressions should use those words?
    whether the body can only use the expression?

    thank you sir

  4. ENGLISH LESSONS FUN BUT VERY HARD AND NOT TOLD THE MEANING OF THE SENTENCE SUCH … … ….

  5. ENGLISH LESSONS FUN BUT VERY HARD AND NOT TOLD THE MEANING OF SENTENCES

  6. i understand that you teach and I also enjoy learning with you …… but there is one input from me, you do not too often to speak English because I sometimes do not understand …………………………. …………………

  7. I opinion materials give a very good father, and makes me dare to speak in front of friends.

  8. I think the material that you provide to us quite clearly and can understand and be understood, and because my father also can bring myself to move forward.

  9. sorry sir late because there is a problem.

    material for classes in my opinion generate enough confidence, courage

    Thank you very much

  10. teaching that is given less to absorb as sir or less close together we .,,,,,,,,

  11. For me the English material for the class 3, this was enough difficult.But I always tried to understand in this lesson, because I want to very much was skilled in speaking English that became the language internasional in fact .I also too much did not like this lesson but if I want to skilled at speaking England I must liked this
    ^_^

Leave a Reply

