Matterials For English UN


Expressions

Expressing APOLOGY:

The words “I’m sorry” are also used to express sympathy,

such as in: “I’m sorry to hear that your brother was badly

injured in that accident.”

Forgive me. I’m terribly sorry about …

Please accept my apology for …

Please excuse … (e.g., my cat)

I would like to apologize for …

I apologize for …

I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to …

I’m sorry that …

Sorry…

APOLOGY RESPONSE:

That’s quite all right

I completely understand

You don’t need to apologize.

Oh, that’s all right. It can happen to

anyone.

It’s not your fault.

Don’t worry about it

It’s OK

No problem.

Forget it.

Expressing sympathy:

􀀹 I’m sorry to hear that.

􀀹 That’s ashamed/ too bad.

􀀹 How awful.

Terrible

􀀹 What a pity

A shamed

a nuisance

Asking for Permission

I wonder if I could …

Do you mind if I …

Is it all right if I …

May I …

Could I ….

Can I …

Giving Permission

By all means

Not at all

Go ahead

Certainly

Sure

Refusing Permission

Well, actually I’d rather you

didn’t

I’d rather you didn’t

I’m sorry, but ….

I’m afraid you can’t. …

Sorry, but …

Offering

1. Shall I …………….?

2. Would you like me

to……………..?

3. Would you like ………?

Accepting an Offer

Oh yes, I’d love to.

That sounds nice.

That’s very kind of you.

Oh, thank you. Yes, please.

Refusing an Offer

I’m sorry I can’t. I have to …

Oh, I’d love to, but I don’t

Leave a Reply

